600th anniversary composition competition

Friday 8 October 2010

Young composers across the UK are being invited to compete for a £1,000 prize and the chance to have their music played as an anthem for the University of St Andrews’ 600th anniversary.

The University of St Andrews, the oldest university in Scotland and the third oldest in the English-speaking world, is due to begin its anniversary celebrations next Summer and submissions are invited by January 7, 2011.

Applicants should be aged under 30 or should be in full time education.

Shortlisted scores will then be rehearsed by the University of St Andrews Symphony Orchestra, before the final selection is made at an evening concert in the University’s Younger Hall on April 21,2011. Tickets for the event will go on sale early next year.

A panel of five judges will decide the winner – renowned Scottish composer Sally Beamish, University Principal Dr Louise Richardson, conductor of the University of St Andrews Symphony Orchestra Thomas Butler, University of St Andrews Director of Music Michael Downes, and Composer in Residence Richard Ingham.

Sally Beamish commented:

“The competition is a wonderful opportunity for all young composers in the UK to show their remarkable talent and I thoroughly look forward to hearing all of the creative and imaginative musical compositions.”

Minister for Culture and External Affairs Fiona Hyslop is also excited about the competition. She said:

“The competition which has been organised by the University of St Andrews Music Society is a wonderful idea. Not only will the University have a specially written piece of music for the celebrations but the competition itself is encouraging and supporting young composers. I am sure that the entries will be of the highest standard and I look forward to hearing the final choice.”

Notes to news editors

The musical composition must not have been entered into any other competitions, published or performed previously. It must be suitable for an amateur orchestra to play and should last between 9 and 12 minutes.

Applications and scores should be sent electronically, in PDF format, to [email protected] or by post to 600th Composition Competition, music Centre Office, Younger Hall, University of St Andrews, KY16 9AJ.

Shortlisted applicants will be notified of their success on January 24, 2011. They will then be asked to submit orchestral parts.

For further information visit: http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/~mussoc/600

Issued by the University of St Andrews

Contact: Emma Shea, Communications Manager, on 01334 462 109 or email [email protected]

Category Public interest stories

Related topics

Share this story