Armando Iannucci in the thick of it for St Andrews graduations

Tuesday 28 May 2024
Jo Harjo, Armando Iannucci and Alison Bechdel (Armando Iannucci photo © Matt Crockett)
Jo Harjo, Armando Iannucci and Alison Bechdel are amongst those receiving honorary degrees from St Andrews this summer (Armando Iannucci photo © Matt Crockett)

The award-winning writer, director and film-maker responsible for creating the hugely popular political satires Veep and The Thick of It; a former Prime Minister of New Zealand; the first Native American Indian to be appointed a United States Poet Laureate; and an award-winning American cartoonist will join more than 2500 students from across the globe celebrating their degrees success at the University of St Andrews at the beginning of next month (June 2024).

Graduates from 97 different countries including the Bahamas, Australia, Ecuador and Thailand will receive their academic awards at the summer graduation celebrations from Monday 10 June to Friday 14 June 2024.

Armando Iannucci will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters (DLitt) in recognition of the profound impact his work has had on stage and screen, and in public discourse across four decades. His television work has won numerous awards including as co-creator of the character Alan Partridge, Avenue 5, The Day Today, The Thick of It and Veep amongst others. His films have also been met with critical acclaim, including the multi-awarding winning Death of Stalin and Oscar-nominated In the Loop.

The Rt Hon Helen Clark, Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1999 to 2008, will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) in recognition of her commitment to sustainable development, climate action, gender equality, global healthcare and women’s leadership.

Helen became Prime Minister after an extensive parliamentary and ministerial career. After a 27-year career in politics, she went on to become Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the first woman to lead the organisation. Helen has also spent much of her career advocating across the international, economic, social, environmental and cultural spheres.

Others to be honoured in St Andrews include cartoonist Alison Bechdel, whose work includes the pioneering comic strip Dykes to Watch Out For and the Bechdel Test an international benchmark for gender bias in film. Alison will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters (DLitt) in recognition of the impact her linguistic expertise has had on the literary community.

Internationally renowned performer and writer of the self-governed Native American Muscogee (Creek) Nation and artist-in-residence at the Bob Dylan Centre, Joy Harjo, will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters (DLitt) in recognition of her work.

Professor Dame Muffy Calder, Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Science and Engineering at the University of Glasgow and a former Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland, will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science.

Air Vice-Marshal Ross Paterson, stationed at RAF Leuchars during his early years of service, will receive the University Medal in recognition of his service and extensive charitable work.

In addition, graduation ceremonies will feature the conferral of awards including the Principal’s Medal.

The full list of those receiving Honorary awards is as follows:

Monday 10 June
Ceremony A: Air Vice-Marshal Ross Paterson CB OBE DL BSc PGCE FCIPD RAF (ret’d) – To be awarded the University Medal
Ceremony B: Véronique Tadjo – To be awarded Doctor of Letters (DLitt)

Tuesday 11 June
Ceremony C: Joy Harjo – To be awarded Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
Ceremony D: The Rt Hon Helen Clark ONZ SSI PC – To be awarded Doctor of Laws (LLD)

Wednesday 12 June
Ceremony E: Sherry Coutu CBE – To be awarded Doctor of Laws (LLD)
Ceremony F: Professor Dame Muffy Calder BSc PhD FRSE FREng – To be awarded Doctor of Science (DSc)

Thursday 13 June
Ceremony G: Armando Iannucci OBE FRSE FRSL – To be awarded Doctor of Letters (DLitt)
Ceremony H: Alison Bechdel – To be awarded Doctor of Letters (DLitt)

Friday 14 June
Ceremony I: Professor Sir Michael Marmot CH MBBS MPH PhD FRCP FFPHM FMedSci FBA – To be awarded Doctor of Medicine (MD)
Ceremony J: Professor Stuart K Monro OBE FRSE – To be awarded Doctor of Science (DSc)

Summer graduation 2024 ceremonies will take place at the University of St Andrews’ Younger Hall, North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AJ.

Photo opps will take place in St Salvator’s Quad at approximately 12 noon (following morning ceremonies) and 3.30pm (following afternoon ceremonies). Media are requested to attend 15 minutes beforehand.

There will be limited interview opportunities at each photocall.

If you would like to attend any of the ceremonies in the Younger Hall, please contact the communications office in advance by email to [email protected].

Full details of all ceremonies can be found on the University website.

Full biographies of all Honorary Graduates are available on the University graduation webpages.

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office.

Category University news

Related topics

Share this story