Bobby Jones Scholars announced

Tuesday 5 March 2024
Four students and two staff members pose on steps in front of an old door
Pictured (left to right): Heather Edie (Head of Campaign and Donor Relations, University of St Andrews), Magnus Burnet, Josh Rankin, Alex Hargreaves, Victor Mendoza Galvis and Joanne Brzinski (Senior Associate Dean, Emory University)

This week (Monday 4 March 2024), the University of St Andrews announced the selection of four students who will receive the Bobby Jones Scholarship and spend the next academic year living and studying at Emory University in Atlanta.

Open to undergraduate students completing their final year of study, the Robert T Jones Memorial Trust Scholarship offers four St Andrews graduates and four Emory graduates the opportunity to study a variety of classes at the partner institution for one academic year, with all mandatory costs covered.

The Scholarship was created in honour of Robert T Jones (Bobby Jones), the most successful amateur golfer of all time. After winning The Open on the Old Course in 1927, Jones famously demonstrated his affection for St Andrews by requesting that his trophy remain at the R&A rather than return home with him to Atlanta.

In addition to golfing success, academia also played an important part in Jones’ life. An alumnus of Emory University Law School, Jones returned to his career as a lawyer after retiring from golf at the age of 28.

Bobby Jones’ love for the town of St Andrews was well known, and he was named Freeman of the City of St Andrews in 1958, an honour bestowed on him in the University’s Younger Hall.

To honour Bobby Jones’ legacy and celebrate his unique connection with the town of St Andrews, the Scholarship was set up by his friends and family in 1976 to strengthen the bond between St Andrews and Atlanta. Today, there are more than 300 alumni of the Scholarship across the world.

In addition to offering its scholars the opportunity to study a variety of subjects, the Bobby Jones Scholarship allows participants the chance to travel, to experience life overseas, and to represent not only the University of St Andrews but the town of St Andrews itself.

Students who demonstrate exceptional academic endeavour, experience of leadership during their time at university, and scholarly interest in the courses offered at Emory are considered for the Bobby Jones Scholarship.

The Bobby Jones Scholars of 2024 are Magnus Burnet (Geography and Sustainable Development), Alex Hargreaves (Social Anthropology), Victor Mendoza Galvis (Philosophy and Russian) and Josh Rankin (Modern History and Social Anthropology).

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office.

Category University news

Related topics

Share this story