Bursary awards

Monday 25 September 2000


Nearly fifty students from Orkney to Wales and from Clackmannan to Northern Ireland are among those receiving bursaries from the University of St Andrews tomorrow (Wednesday 27 September 2000).

The awards include eighteen bursaries worth £500 each for the study of either Chemistry or Physics and Astronomy and twelve bursaries worth £250 each for the study of either Mathematics and Statistics or Modern Languages. There are also five Fife bursary awards of £500 for each year of a student’s degree programme, three £1000 bursaries for Scottish mature students and a total of eleven golf bursaries (seven new, four continuing).

Master of the United College and Acting Principal Professor Colin Vincent said, “We are delighted to make these awards and are especially pleased with the standard of this year’s applicants. The successful bursars have done particularly well to gain their awards.”

Details are as follows:-

Fife Bursars 2000

Susan Boyne, Methil Claire Brady, Burntisland Fiona Louise Dunleavey, St Andrews Sharon Fury, Glenrothes Biba Penney McCormack, Glenrothes Mature Bursars 2000

Gillian Bennett, Dundee Natalie Maria Roncone, Dundee Alan Thomson, St Andrews

Chemistry Bursars 2000

David Ainsworth, Falkirk Grace Rosalind Briggs, Llanrhystud, Wales Rachel Lynsey Craggs, North Yorkshire Amy Jane Blackley Gradwell, Perth Tom Hartley, Stonehaven Neil Steven Keddie, Glasgow Robert Hazzledine, Orkney Katherine Anna Smith, West Yorkshire John Ross Wallace, Renfrewshire

Maths Bursars 2000

Nalia Ather, Cowdenbeath Richard Steven Huddart, Cockermouth Mairi MaGaskill, Clackmannanshire Michael Brunton Steel, North Berwick

Modern Languages Bursars 2000

Katherine Claire Dempster,Glasgow Emma Kate Douglas, Suffolk Virginia Fowler, St Andrews Neil Hall, Elie Donna Rose Lindsay, Carnoustie Fiona-Mary MacFarlane, North Yorkshire Emma Pollard, Oban Judith Louise Taylor, Aberdeenshire

Physics Bursars 2000

Andrew Clive Bennett, Shetland Calum Brown, Inverness Emma Jayne Coutts, Aberdeen James Andrew Forder, Derbyshire Andrew Richard Haire, Luncarty Conor Patrick Hull, North Ireland Nicola Morgan Lewis, Clackmananshire Iain McDonald, Culbokie Joanna Catherine Windle, Doncaster

Golf Bursars 2000

New Bursars: Kevin Reid, Aberdeen David Williams, Cheltenham Jed Moore, Thames Ditton, Surrey Gary Russell, Congleton Alistair Hewson, Scunthorpe

Full Bursars: Jonathan Walker, Perth David Reid, Riding Mill, Northumberland

Continuing Bursars: Matthew Moore, Durham Finlay Miller, Crieff Tim Need, Cwmbran, Gwent James Shield, Stone, Bucks


NOTE TO EDITORS:- You are invited to send a reporter/photographer to a photocall of the bursary receipients in Lower College Hall, St Salvator’s Quad, St Andrews at 4.30pm on Wednesday 27 September 2000.

Issued by Beattie Media on behalf of the University of St Andrews For more information please contact Claire Grainger on 01334 462530, 07730 415 015 or email [email protected] Ref: bursars/standrews/chg/26sep2000


Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story