Chemist elected to Royal Society

Friday 18 May 2007

A pioneering scientist at the University of St Andrews has been elected to the Fellowship of The Royal Society.

Professor Peter BruceThe award, made to Professor Peter Bruce today (Friday 18 May 2007), is one of the greatest honours bestowed upon British scientists – previous recipients include David Attenborough and Stephen Hawking.  Professor Bruce is being recognised for his pioneering work on the chemistry of materials.

New materials, with new properties, are essential for the development of new batteries and fuel cells necessary to power future portable electronic devices such as mobile telephones and laptops.  They also have the ability to store renewable energy and enable future hybrid electric vehicles, all essential aids to combat global warming.

Professor Bruce, of the University’s School of Chemistry, said, “I am delighted and honoured to be elected to The Royal Society.  Research is about teamwork and I wish to express my depth of gratitude to my research students and post doctoral fellows, both past and present.  I am also delighted for the School of Chemistry and the University of St Andrews.”

In his official announcement of the forty-four new Fellows this morning, Martin Rees, President of the Royal Society, said: “These new Fellows are at the cutting edge of science in the UK and beyond.  Their achievements represent the enormous contribution science makes to society.”

The chemist joins two colleagues from the University who are already Royal Society Fellows – Professor Eric Priest of the University’s School of Mathematics and Statistics and Professor Wilson Sibbett of the School of Physics & Astronomy.

Professor Bruce will be officially inducted at a ceremony in London in July.




A jpeg image of Professor Bruce is available from the Press Office – contacts below.


Issued by Press Office, University of St Andrews
Contact Gayle Cook, Press Officer on 01334 467227 / 462529, mobile 07900 050 103, or email [email protected]
Ref:  P Bruce RSE Fellow 180507
View the latest University press releases at

Category University news

Related topics

Share this story