Honorary degrees

Wednesday 14 April 2004

Figures from the worlds of art, science, politics and the media are among those receiving honorary degrees from the University of St Andrews this summer.

Graduations, running from Tuesday 22 to Friday 25 June 2004, will see the following individuals commended for their achievements and, in particular, their contribution to Scottish life.

Principal and Vice-Chancellor Dr Brian Lang said, “The individuals being honoured are leaders in their fields and have made substantial contributions to public and academic life. We are delighted to be associated with them¿.

The events will take place in Younger Hall, North Street, St Andrews.

Tuesday 22 June – 2.30pm

Padre Gustavo Guttierrez – Writer and theologian. Known as the “father of liberation theology¿ – Doctor of Divinity

Sir Tom McKillop – Chief Executive, Astra-Zeneca. Distinguished Scientist and businessman – Doctor of Sciences

Wednesday 23 June – 10.30am

Cardinal Archbishop O’Brien – Cardinal Archbishop of St Andrews and Edinburgh – Doctor of Divinity

Fred Goodwin – Chief Executive, Royal Bank of Scotland. Leading Scottish Businessman and influential UK banker – Doctor of Laws

Wednesday 23 June – 2.30pm

Professor Hilary Putnam – Professor of Philosophy at Harvard University. One of the leading philosophers alive today – Doctor of Letters

Professor Cheryl Tickle – Foulerton Research Professor of the Royal Society, University of Dundee. The foremost female developmental biologist in the UK and one of the most senior women in British biology – Doctor of Science

Thursday 24 June – 10.30am

Roger Crofts – Chief Executive, Scottish Natural Heritage – Doctor of Science

Timothy Garton Ash – Historian, University of Oxford. One of Europe’s leading commentators on the politics and society of central and eastern Europe – Doctor of Letters

Professor Fergus Millar – Camden Professor of Ancient History, University of Oxford. Pre-eminent Roman historian of his generation with long-standing links to the University of St Andrews – Doctor of Letters

Thursday 24 June – 2.30pm

Robert Fisk – Journalist. Middle East Correspondent with The Independent – Doctor of Laws

Sir Angus Grossart – Chairman, Noble Grossart – Doctor of Letters

Friday 25 June – 10.30am

Professor Roger Green – Dean, Manchester Medical School – Doctor of Science

Professor Linda Partridge – Weldon Professor of Biometry, University of London. Most eminent female evolutionary biologist in the UK and one of the most highly regarded worldwide – Doctor of Science

Friday 25 June – 2.30pm

Sir Trevor McDonald – Newscaster – Doctor of Laws

Professor Jean-Marie Lehn – Professor of Chemistry, Université Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg. Greatest French Chemist of the 20th Century – Doctor of Science



Further information, including details of photocalls, will be released nearer the time.

Issued by Beattie Media On behalf of the University of St Andrews For more information, please contact Contact Claire Grainger, Press Officer – 01334 462530, 07730 415 015 or cg24@st- andrews.ac.uk; Ref: press releases/hondegrees2004 View the latest University news at http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story