Honorary degrees

Tuesday 15 May 2012

Leading figures from the worlds of science, academia, literature, law and broadcasting will be awarded honorary degrees by the University of St Andrews next month.

Famous names including the “father of modern linguistics” Noam Chomsky, Irish poet Paul Muldoon, science broadcaster Simon Singh, Man Booker Prize winner AS Byatt and Scottish writer AL Kennedy will be honoured by the University during its summer graduations (19-22 June 2012).

Eight ceremonies over four days in the summer will see twelve distinguished individuals honoured.

They also include Paul and Catherine Buttenweiser University Professor (Harvard University) Stanley Hoffmann, Professor in Computational Sciences (ETH Zurich and Università della Svizzera Italiana) Michele Parrinello, environmental scientist Mr Jesse Ausubel, Professor of English (Princeton University) Elaine Showalter, Justice of the Constitutional Court of South Africa Edwin Cameron, Honorary Professor of Solid State Chemistry (Cambridge) Professor Sir John Meurig Thomas and Dame Marjorie Scardino, the Chief Executive of Pearson.

The full timetable of ceremonies is as follows:

Date and time Title Name of recipient Degree
Tuesday AM Professor Noam Chomsky DLitt
Tuesday AM Dame Antonia S Byatt DLitt
Tuesday PM Professor Stanley Hoffmann DLitt
Wednesday AM Professor Dr Michele Parrinello DSc
Wednesday PM Professor Paul Muldoon DLitt
Thursday AM Mr Jesse Ausubel LLD
Thursday AM Professor Elaine Showalter DLitt
Thursday PM Ms Alison Kennedy DLitt
Thursday PM Justice Edwin Cameron LLD
Friday AM Professor John Meurig Thomas DSc
Friday PM Dame Marjorie Scardino LLD
Friday PM Dr Simon Singh Dsc


Note to Editors

A media invitation to attend photo opportunities will be released nearer the time.

Biogs and images for each of the honorary degree recipients is available from the Press Office – contacts below.

Issued by the Press Office, University of St Andrews

Contact Gayle Cook, Senior Communications Manager on 01334 467227 / 462529, mobile 07900 050 103, or email [email protected]

Ref: Honoraries 150512

View the latest University press releases at www.st-andrews.ac.uk

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story