Summer graduation celebrations at St Andrews

Wednesday 1 May 2019

Over 1900 students from across the world will gather at the University of St Andrews this June for summer graduation, which will also see ten distinguished individuals from the worlds of science, art, sport and literature honoured.

Graduates from over 80 countries including Scotland, China, Nigeria, Germany and the USA, to name just a few, will receive their academic awards in the Younger Hall from Monday 24 June to Friday 28 June 2019.

Former Scottish Rugby and Lions Head Coach Sir Ian McGeechan (above right), Director of the Tate Modern Frances Morris (above centre) and physicist, author and broadcaster Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE (top left) are among the distinguished individuals to receive honorary degrees at this summer’s graduation ceremonies.

The full list of recipients is as follows:

Monday 24 June 2pm Sir Ian McGeechan – Knighted in the 2010 New Year’s Honours List, Sir Ian McGeechan is one of rugby’s most popular and well-regarded figures. During his playing career Ian won 32 caps for Scotland and was the British and Irish Lions Head Coach on four occasions.

Dr Gillian Tett – Chairman of Editorial Board (US) and Editor-at-large at the Financial Times, writing weekly columns covering a range of economic, financial, political and social issues.

Tuesday 25 June 10.30am Joyce McMillan – Theatre critic of The Scotsman, and also writes a political and social commentary column for the paper.

Tuesday 25 June 2pm His Highness, le Afioga a le Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Ta’isi Tupuola Tufuga Efi – Samoan political figure who was head of state from 2007 to 2017.

Wednesday 26 June 10.30am Professor Lesley Yellowlees CBE BSc PhD HonFRSC FRSE – President of the Royal Society of Chemistry from 2012-14, their first woman President in 175 years. Lesley was awarded an MBE in 2005 for services to science and a CBE for services to Chemistry in 2014. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Wednesday 26 June 2pm Professor Dame Elizabeth Nneka Anionwu DBE CBE FRCN FQNI PhD – Emeritus Professor of Nursing at the University of West London. She was inducted into the Nursing Times Nursing Hall of Fame in 2010 for services to the development of nurse-led Services

Thursday 27 June 10.30am Professor Michael Cook FBA – British historian and scholar of Islamic history and Professor of Near Eastern Studies at Princeton University.

Thursday 27 June 2pm Professor Jim Al-Khalili OBE FRS – Prominent author and broadcaster, Jim is the current president of the British Science Association. He is a regular presenter of TV science documentaries. Jim presents the award-winning weekly BBC Radio 4 programme, The Life Scientific.

Friday 28 June 10.30am Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow – Professor of Biomolecular Science and former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Kent. Julia was the first female Chief Executive of any of the UK’s Research Councils.

Friday 28 June 2pm Frances Morris MA – Director of Tate Modern art gallery in London. Frances holds a BA in History of Art from Cambridge University and an MA in History of Art from the Courtauld Institute of Art, London. She is a Board member at Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh.

Photo calls with each Honorary Graduate will be held immediately after each ceremony in St Salvator’s Quadrangle, North Street, St Andrews.

More information on all graduation ceremonies is available on the University Graduation 2019 web pages along with additional information on all Honorary Graduates.

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office.

Category Student experience

Share this story