Summer graduation celebrations return to St Andrews

Monday 30 May 2022

A footballing legend, women at the heart of national and international security, an award-winning author and a Fife music legend will join more than 5000 students from across the world at the University of St Andrews in June for a bumper three weeks of graduation ceremonies, the first in-person summer ceremonies since 2019 due to Covid.

Graduates from more than 80 countries, including Scotland, Ukraine, India, Germany and the USA, to name just a few, will receive their academic awards in the Younger Hall from Monday 13 June to Wednesday 29 June 2022.

Scottish football legend Kenny Dalglish will be honoured alongside former National Security Council Senior Director and Assistant to the President of the United States, Dr Fiona Hill, British diplomat and former HM Ambassador of the United Kingdom to the Russian Federation and Dame Anne Pringle, alongside award-winning author Sebastian Faulks and Mercury Music Prize nominee King Creosote.

The bumper graduation ceremony season will see a total of 23 distinguished individuals from the worlds of science, art, sport and literature honoured alongside returning students from the Class of 2020 and 2021 who missed in-person ceremonies due to the global pandemic.

Academic awards will be conferred on students and Honorary Graduates in the Younger Hall in St Andrews. Photo calls with each Honorary Graduate will be held immediately after their ceremony in St Salvator’s Quadrangle, North Street, St Andrews.

There will be limited time for brief interviews with Honorary Graduates at each photo call.

The full list of recipients of Honorary Degrees is as follows:

Week one: Monday 13 June – Friday 17 June

  • Monday 13 June 2pm – Professor Terence Cave CBE FBA, Emeritus Professor of French Literature, University of Oxford, and Emeritus Fellow, St John’s College, Oxford
  • Tuesday 14 June 10.30am – Professor Sir John Ball MA DPhil FRSE FRS, Professor of Mathematics, Maxwell Institute for Mathematical Sciences and Department of Mathematics, Heriot-Watt University
  • Tuesday 14 June 2pm – Sarah Macaulay Brown BSc FRCOG FRCPCH, Chair of Theirworld and Executive Chair, Global Business Coalition for Education
  • Wednesday 15 June 10.30am – Dr Richard Henderson BSc PhD, Scientist at the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge
  • Wednesday 15 June 2pm – Professor Dame Frances Kirwan DBE MA DPhil FRS, Savilian Professor of Geometry, University of Oxford
  • Thursday 16 June 10.30am – Professor Carole Hillenbrand CBE BA MA PHD FBA FRSE FRAS, Honorary Professor, University of St Andrews, author and historian
  • Thursday 16 June 2pm – Sebastian Faulks CBE FRSL, author
  • Friday 17 June 9.30am – Professor Sir Ian Gilmore MD (Cantab) FRCP, Honorary Professor, University of Liverpool, Adjunct Professor, Curtin University, Western Australia, and Chair, Alcohol Health Alliance UK
  • Friday 17 June 12 noon – Sir Paul Nurse CH FRS, Director of the Francis Crick Institute, London
  • Friday 17 June 3.30pm – Professor Ann Phoenix PhD FBA FAcSS FRSA, Professor of Psychosocial Studies, University College London

Week two: Tuesday 21 June – Friday 24 June

  • Tuesday 21 June 10.30am – Professor Linda M McDowell CBE MA MPhil PhD DLitt FBA, Professor Emerita of Human Geography
  • Tuesday 21 June 2pm – Sir Kenneth Dalglish MBE, footballer, Club Manager and Non-Executive Director, Founder of the Marina Dalglish Appeal
  • Wednesday 22 June 10.30am – Roger Thompson HBA, Founding Chair of the Canadian Robert T Jones Scholarship Foundation. To receive the University Medal.
  • Wednesday 22 June 2pm – Professor Marcus Feldman BSc MSc PhD, Professor of Biology, Stanford University
  • Thursday 23 June 10.30am – Dame Anne Fyfe Pringle DCMG MA, Diplomat and Trustee
  • Thursday 23 June 2pm – Dr Fiona Hill MA PhD, Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution, Washington DC, author and historian
  • Friday 24 June 12 noon – Warwick Ball, archaeologist and historian
  • Friday 24 June 3.30pm – David McClure BSc (Hons) SQH, Former Rector of Madras College. To receive the University Medal.

Week three: Monday 27 June – Wednesday 29 June

  • Monday 27 June 9.30am – Professor Carlo Ginzburg, Emeritus Professor of History, UCLA, and Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa
  • Monday 27 June 3.30pm – The Lord Sedwill KCMG FRGS BSc MPhil, Former Cabinet Secretary and National Security Adviser
  • Tuesday 28 June 10.30am – Kenny Anderson BSc, singer songwriter
  • Tuesday 28 June 2pm – Gillian Moore CBE, Director of Music and Performing Arts, Southbank Centre, London
  • Wednesday 29 June 2pm – Lord Dubs BSc, Member of the House of Lords

Graduation ceremonies take place at the Younger Hall, St Andrews. For more information visit the Graduation web pages.

If you would like to attend any of the ceremonies in the Hall, please contact the communications office in advance.

More information on all graduation ceremonies.

More information on all Honorary Graduates.

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office.

Category Student experience

Related topics

Share this story