University teaching is top of the class

Monday 17 April 2023
Winners of the University Teaching Excellence Awards 2023 with (front row) Vice-Principal Education (Proctor) Professor Clare Peddie (second from left), Principal and Vice-Chancellor Professor Dame Sally Mapstone FRSE (third from left) and Students’ Association Director of Education, AK Schott (second from right)

Top teachers at the University of St Andrews have been recognised by colleagues and students as part of the annual Teaching Excellence Awards.

In two separate awards – University Teaching Awards nominated by Heads of Schools and Students’ Association Teaching Awards nominated by students – outstanding lecturers, supervisors and other staff were acknowledged for their dedication in supporting students through their studies.

The awards, which took place on Thursday 11 April, were presented by Principal and Vice-Chancellor Dame Professor Sally Mapstone FRSE.

The winners of the University awards, peer-nominated and peer-judged by academics, were:

  • Dr Lenia Kouneni, School of Art History
  • Dr Iain Matthews, School of Biology
  • Kirsty Duff, International Education Institute
  • Dr Pauline Souleau, School of Modern Languages
  • Dr William Heitler, School of Psychology and Neuroscience

Vice-Principal Education (Proctor), Professor Clare Peddie, said: “The Teaching Excellence Awards are one of the highlights of the academic year. It is inspiring to learn of the innovative ways in which our talented educators are engaging with students, and an absolute pleasure to see them receiving well-deserved recognition.

“I am always hugely impressed with the creativity and pedagogical excellence of our academic staff and immensely happy to be involved in this event, celebrating the achievements of all the nominees and the award winners.”

Students presented awards to individuals who helped shape their learning in a number of categories, including innovation in teaching and academic inclusivity. New for 2023 were awards for outstanding commitment to student engagement and separate awards for outstanding dissertation, thesis, or project supervisor of postgraduate and undergraduate students.

The student Teaching Award Winners 2023 are:

  • Outstanding Teacher (Arts/Divinity): Dr Akali Omeni (School of International Relations)
  • Outstanding Teacher (Science/Medicine): Professor Jonathan Fraser (School of Mathematics & Statistics)
  • Outstanding Commitment to Academic Inclusivity: Dr Ale Boussalem (School of Geography & Sustainable Development)
  • Outstanding Innovation in Teaching: Dr Kulnicha Meechaiyo (School of Economics & Finance)
  • Outstanding Academic Mentorship: Dr Ozge Senay (School of Economics & Finance)
  • Outstanding Dissertation, Thesis, or Project Supervisor (Postgraduate): Dr Claire Whitehead (School of Modern Languages)
  • Outstanding Dissertation, Thesis, or Project Supervisor (Undergraduate): Dr Manon Schweinfurth (School of Psychology & Neuroscience)
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant (Arts/Divinity): Q Manivannan (School of International Relations)
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant or Demonstrator (Science/Medicine): Alice Elizabeth Martin (School of Chemistry)
  • Outstanding Professional Services Staff Member: Dr William Hiles (School of Geography & Sustainable Development)
  • Outstanding Commitment to Student Engagement: Dr Yusen Yu (School of Art History)

Students’ Association Director of Education, AK Schott, said: “Our 11 winners embody some of the best teaching, supervision, and student partnership the University of St Andrews has to offer, and exemplify the excellent student learning experience we strive to provide for every student. The student-led teaching awards are a personal thank you from the students who are impacted by incredible educators, and we echo their thanks for our educators’ efforts.

“Everyone who was nominated demonstrated their care for and commitment to their students, and we are honoured to be able to recognise this through the Teaching Awards.”

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office.

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story