Honorary degrees 21st – 25th June

Sunday 19 June 2005

Author Bill Bryson, Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament George Reid and Poet Seamus Heaney are among those receiving honorary degrees from the University of St Andrews this week.

Seven graduation ceremonies will take place from Tuesday 21 to Friday 24 June 2005 in Younger Hall, North Street, St Andrews.

The full list of recipients is detailed below –

Tuesday 21 June – 2.30pm

Seamus Heaney – Poet – Doctor of Letters.

Wednesday 22 June – 10.30am

Professor Susan Iverson – Professor of Psychology, University of Oxford – Doctor of Science.

John Simpson – Journalist and author – Doctor of Letters.

Wednesday 22 June – 2.30pm

Peter Cox – Horticulturalist/Botanist – Doctor of Science.

Bill Bryson – Author – Doctor of Science.

Thursday 23 June – 10.30am

George Reid – Presiding Officer, Scottish Parliament – Doctor of Laws.

Dr Alison Elliot – Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland – Doctor of Divinity.

Thursday 23 June – 2.30pm

Alan Davie – Artist – Doctor of Letters.

Craig Reedie – Chairman, British Olympic Association – Doctor of Laws.

Friday 24 June – 10.30am

Professor Sir Alasdair Breckenridge – Chairman, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) – Doctor of Science.

Sir Philip Cohen – Royal Society Research Professor, University of Dundee – Doctor of Science.

Professor Aubrey Manning – Emeritus Professor of Natural History, University of Edinburgh.

Friday 24 June – 2.30pm

The Very Rev Professor Iain Torrance – President, Princeton Theological Seminary, New Jersey – Doctor of Divinity.

Quentin Skinner – Regius Professor of Modern History, University of Cambridge – Doctor of Letters.



Photocalls with the honorary graduates* will take place on St Salvator’s lawn, to the west of Younger Hall, North Street, St Andrews after each ceremony (which will last approximately 1.5 hours). In the event of poor weather, photocalls will be held in St Salvator’s Chapel, St Salvator’s Quadrangle, North Street, St Andrews. Strictly embargoed laureation and graduation addresses and biographies of recipients are also available from the Press Office.

* Photographs of Thursday morning’s honorands will be available from Press Association/University press office.

Issued by Beattie Media On behalf of the University of St Andrews For more information, please contact Claire Grainger, Gayle Cook or Niall Scott – 01334 462529 Ref: press releases/hons2005PIC View the latest University news at http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story