Japanese collaboration rewarded

Sunday 25 July 2004

A St. Andrews-led team of UK physicists have been recognised by a body which rewards collaborative research between the UK and Japan.

The 2004 Daiwa Adrian Prizes are awarded every three years and recognise research excellence emerging from UK-Japanese collaboration. The St. Andrews ­ Cambridge ­ Kyoto team has an international reputation for their work on the low temperature behaviour of exotic oxide metals, which they hope will lay the foundations for future electronic technologies.

The leader of the UK team, Professor Andy Mackenzie, said ‘I am delighted that we have received this prize for several reasons. First and foremost, I like the fact that it recognises the broader team rather than just a couple of individuals. From St. Andrews, this includes Drs Santiago Grigera, Rodolfo Borzi and Robin Perry, as well as Dr. Naoki Kikugawa who is a visiting fellow from Kyoto.

“In Cambridge, our long-time collaborators Drs Stephen Julian and Christoph Bergemann receive deserved recognition. The Japanese team led by my close friend Professor Yoshi Maeno is at the heart of the joint work, and it is a pleasure to see awards for Drs. Kenji Ishida, Fumihiko Nakamura, Shin-ichi Ikeda and Satoru Nakatsuji. This has been a really interactive team effort.

“Over the past decade, all of the group members have spent time working in the partner countries, building up friendships that will last a lifetime. It has been fun anyway – to see the output recognised in this way is even more satisfying.”

The prize of £15,000 will be presented at an awards ceremony at the Royal Society in London in late November.


Issued by Beattie Media

On behalf of the University of St Andrews Contact Gayle Cook on 01334 467227, mobile 07900 050 103, or email [email protected] Ref: Physics prize pr 260704.doc View the latest University news at http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story