Leading lights at University receive RSE fellowships

Thursday 5 March 2015

RSE LogoFive leading lights at the University of St Andrews have been awarded Fellowships of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

The prestigious accolade recognises the advancement of learning and useful knowledge, which is at the centre of public life, across the arts, business and technology and science sectors.

Joining Scotland’s National Academy this week are Professor Don Paterson, poet and Professor of Poetry; Professor Rosemary Anne Bailey, Professor of Mathematics and Statistics; Professor Ineke De Moortel, Professor in Applied Mathematics; Professor Richard Ludlow English, Wardlaw Professor of Politics and Director of the Handa Centre for the Study of Terrorism and Political Violence; and Professor Nicholas T Wright, Research Professor of New Testament and Early Christianity at the University.

They are among 56 senior scientists, celebrated writers and eminent academics named as new Fellows elected to join the prestigious group. The latest entrants also include author Ian Rankin and former Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament, George Reid.

Spanning the arts, business, and science and technology sectors, the new Fellows join the RSE which aims to place the advancement of learning and useful knowledge at the centre of public life in Scotland.

New Fellows are elected each year through a rigorous five-stage nomination process.

The Fellowship, numbers more than 1600 individuals from Scotland, the UK and overseas.



About the RSE: The Royal Society of Edinburgh is a leading educational charity which operates on an independent and non-party-political basis to provide public benefit throughout Scotland. Established by Royal Charter in 1783 by key proponents of the Scottish Enlightenment, the The Royal Society of Edinburgh, Scotland’s National Academy, is Scottish Charity No. SC000470 RSE now has around 1600 Fellows from a wide range of disciplines. The work of the RSE includes awarding research funding, leading on major inquiries, informing public policy and delivering events across Scotland to inspire knowledge and learning. The RSE’s Fellowship comprises Honorary Fellows (members of the Royal House or persons eminently distinguished in any subject within our disciplinary domains), Corresponding Fellows (those who have attained high international standing in any subject within our disciplinary domains, and are not normally resident in the UK) and Fellows.

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office, contactable on 01334 462108 or [email protected].

Category Research

Related topics

Share this story