St Andrew’s Day honours

Friday 9 October 2015


Three distinguished figures from the worlds of academia and the arts will be honoured by the University of St Andrews next month.

The trio will all be awarded honorary degrees during the St Andrew’s Day Graduation ceremonies taking place on Monday 30 November. They are: Sir David Edward, Vicky Featherstone and Professor Cheryl Praeger.

Professor the Right Honourable Sir David Edward is Professor Emeritus of the University of Edinburgh and former Judge of the Court of Justice of the European Communities (1992 to 2004).

Vicky Featherstone is Artistic Director of the Royal Court Theatre and former Artistic Director of The National Theatre of Scotland (2005 to 2012).

Cheryl Praeger is Professor of Mathematics at the University of Western Australia and Foreign Secretary of the Australian Academy of Science; she was also the first woman President of the Australian Mathematical Society.

The three honorands will join hundreds of graduating students over the three ceremonies taking place at the University’s Younger Hall that day.

Note to editors & picture editors:

A media invitation and photocall notice for the Graduation ceremonies will be issued in advance of the event. Images of all three honorary degree recipients are available from the Press Office, University of St Andrews. Contact Gayle Cook, Senior Communications Manager on 01334 467227 or email [email protected]

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story