Staff awards ceremony

Wednesday 8 February 2006

Staff providing high-quality accommodation and catering for students, staff and visitors to the University have been awarded for their achievements.

A number of dedicated and loyal staff from Residential and Business Services received awards at an annual ceremony, attended by Principal and Vice-Chancellor Dr Brian Lang, on Friday 3 February 2006.

The last 12 months have been an extremely challenging period for the 340 staff within the department. In addition to providing accommodation, catering and associated services for students, staff and visitors, staff contributed to an extremely successful Open Golf Championship, commissioned the new facilities building at David Russell Apartments and catered for a number of high-profile graduation ceremonies.

Details of those who received commendations at The Gateway ceremony are listed below –

Long Term Service

26 Years:

Hamish Johnston, Head of Support Services

Helen Taylor, Hamilton Hall

Ann Darnell, University Hall

25 years:

Lucy Rhind, Deans Court

Gwenda Johnston, University Hall

24 Years:

Joy Straith, Deans Court

Christine Bews, University Hall

Dave Ritchie, Andrew Melville Hall 23 Years:

Marilyn Donnelly, Deans Court

22 Years:

Val MacGregor, Andrew Melville Hall

21 Years:

Madeline Latimer, Andrew Melville Hall

Margaret Evans, David Russell Apartments

Terry Mitchell, Hamilton Hall

Janice Gray, Andrew Melville Hall 20 Years:

Jane McConville, New Hall

Moira McHugh, St.Salvators Hall

Sandra Cuthbertson, New Hall

Jess Black, McIntosh Hall

Roger Smith, Director

College Course (completed over the last 18 month period)

HND Hospitality Management – Carole Donaldson, David Russell Apartments

HND Hospitality Management – Margaret Stewart, David Russell Apartments

SVQ Level 3 Professional Cookery – Fiona McLennan, New Hall

SVQ Level 3 Professional Cookery – Margaret Field, University Hall

SVQ Level 3 Professional Cookery – Jane Falls, New Hall

SVQ Level 3 Professional Cookery – James Hay, McIntosh Hall

Scottish Healthy Choices

New Hall – Accredited in September 2005 (Commended)

John Burnet Hall – Successfully re- assessed in March 2005

Both Halls retain the award for a further 2 years.

Green Tourism Business Scheme

August 2004 – Silver Award – David Russell Apartments

Hospitable Climates Champion of the Year

Deans Court – For savings made in the consumption and cost of GAS over the last 12 months. John Burnet Hall – For savings made in the consumption and cost of ELECTRICITY over the last 12 months.

Certificated Training Courses

Practical Training Certificate

Lynsey Walker, David Russell Apartments

Ross Davie, University Hall

Mark Trimble, John Burnet Hall

REHIS Intermediate Food Hygiene

Sarah Pay, David Russell Apartments (passed with credit)

Julie Niven, St.Salvators Hall

Alison Simpson, John Burnet Hall

Jason Martin, David Russell Apartments

Michael Farquarson, St.Salvators Hall

REHIS Elementary Food Hygiene

Jacqueline Symington, Gateway

Kathy Campbell, Gateway

Pamela Scott, Hamilton Hall

Stuart Anderson, Andrew Melville Hall

Fiona McLennan, New Hall

Dawn Hales, St.Salvators Hall

Fiona Russell, St.Salvators Hall

Michelle Moore, David Russell Apartments

Corrine Keddie, New Hall

Denise Brannan, Andrew Melville Hall

Fiona McGregor, Andrew Melville Hall

Jane Davis, Gateway

Lorna Campbell, Gateway

Jonathan House, Gateway

Heather Duffy, David Russell Apartments

Alan Cunningham, David Russell Apartments

Mitch Hunt, St.Salvators Hall

David Jack, University Hall

REHIS Elementary Health and Safety

Sandra Givan, New Hall

Colin MacKenzie, New Hall

Margaret Ritchie, New Hall

Mike Farquarson, St.Salvators Hall

First Aid at Work

Janice Christie, Andrew Melville Hall

Lynsey Martin, David Russell Apartments

Lynsey Walker, David Russell Apartments

Sandra Givan, New Hall

Alison Tulleth, Hamilton Hall

Christine Wilson, St.Regulus Hall

COSHH Awareness for Managers/Supervisors

Mary Bennett, David Russell Apartments

Isobel Edmonds, David Russell Apartments

Lynsey Walker, David Russell Apartments

Jim Mitchell, University Hall

Nancy Bolland, Deans Court

Marlene Godfrey, Albany Park

Lesley Schusler, New Hall

Cilla Galloway, McIntosh Hall

Margaret Evans, David Russell Apartments

Laura Anderson, St.Salvators Hall

Sheila Cunningham, St.Salvators Hall

Ann Barnes, St.Regulus Hall

Margaret Ritchie, New Hall

Janet Thomson, John Burnet Hall

“Employee of the Year”

Colleagues were asked to nominate member(s) of staff who they felt had gone above and beyond the call of duty, particularly over the last 12 months, and to recognise the “team effort¿ by all within Residential and Business Services. However a number of staff received nominations, and the winners are:

David Ritchie – Andrew Melville Hall

DRA Porters – Ian Sturrock, Davey Stevens and Andy Petrie

New Hall – 1. Housekeeping Team and 2. Colin McKenzie

Gateway – Reception Staff

Central Office – 1. Wendy Newton (Student Accommodation Services) and 2. Hamish Johnston

Hamilton Hall – “Team Hamilton”


Issued by Beattie Media – On behalf of the University of St Andrews For more information, please contact Claire Grainger, Press Officer – 01334 462530, 07730 415 015 or [email protected]; Ref: press releases/rbsceremony View the latest University news at

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story