Trio awarded Fellowship by RSE

Monday 21 March 2011

Three academics from the University of St Andrews have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Professors Alex Slawin (Chemistry), Stephen Halliwell (Classics) and Klaus Zuberbuhler (Psychology) are among 45 figures to be officially announced as new Fellows.

Elected after a rigorous four-stage selection process culminating in a ballot of the entire Fellowship, the trio join a membership of 1,500 experts in the sciences, arts, humanities and industry.

Each new Fellow is recognised within his or her peer group as having achieved excellence within their discipline or profession.  They will be encouraged to contribute to the aims and objectives of the Society, including the provision of expert policy advice to Government and Parliament, outreach education programmes for young people, public engagement events such as conferences and discussion forums, and working on the selection panels for research and enterprise Fellowships.

During the announcement, Lord Wilson of Tillyorn, the President of the RSE commented, “I am delighted to be able to announce the new intake of Fellows – each has achieved excellence in his or her field of work, which has been recognised by their peers through their election to the RSE. I look forward to welcoming them to the Society at the new Fellows induction event in May and will be encouraging them to be active participants in the activities of the Society.”


Category University news

Related topics

Share this story