University scientist honoured

Friday 23 October 2009

A prestigious scientific organisation has elected a St Andrews researcher to its membership.

Professor James Naismith is just one of 66 new members elected from across the EU to the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO).

Professor Naismith is Director of the Biomedical Science Research Complex and member of the University’s School of Chemistry.

EMBO Members are elected on the basis of their excellence in research. As a new member, he joins the ranks of approximately 1,400 leading researchers in Europe representing the full diversity within molecular life sciences.

Professor Naismith is only the second scientist from the University of St Andrews to be elected to EMBO.

He commented, “I am delighted to be elected to this prestigious organisation. The honour reflects the work done by my co-workers (past and present). It is their dedication and imagination that is being recognised. I am grateful to my colleagues, the University and my funders BBSRC, Wellcome Trust and EU (aeropath) for all their support.”


Issued by the Press Office, University of St Andrews
Contact Gayle Cook, Senior Press Officer on 01334 467227 / 462529, mobile 07900 050 103, or email [email protected]
Ref:  Naismith EMBO 221009

View the latest University press releases at

Category Research

Related topics

Share this story