Wanted – inspirational environmentalists

Thursday 31 May 2001


Are you passionate about the environment? Do you have the inspiration to create a practical solution to an environmental problem? Would you like $25,000 and the support of an elite network of renowned environmental practitioners to turn your dreams into reality?

It doesn’t matter who you are or where you come from – if you can come up with such a solution, you could win the latest St Andrews Prize, officially launched today (Friday 1st June, 2001).

Candidates from all walks of life and from any part of the world are invited to participate in the 2002 St Andrews Prize, an internationally acclaimed initiative, co-sponsored by the University of St Andrews and Conoco, the international energy company. Entrants need not be individuals – this year the Prize is open to multi-disciplinary or community groups.

The prize, which is in its fourth year, has attracted hundreds of applications each year from over 40 different countries.

“We are looking for entrepreneurs on behalf of the environment – applicants able to champion original and innovative environmental ideas, which they can show to be realistic and realisable and which take account of the social and economic implications,” said Sir Crispin Tickell, Chairman of the adjudicating panel of Trustees.

No entry forms are required. All entrants have to do is submit an outline proposal on a single sheet of A4 paper by 30th October, 2001. A selection of entrants will then be asked to elaborate on their ideas with a fuller submission in January 2002. Three shortlisted finalists will be invited to the University of St Andrews, Scotland, in May 2002 to present their submissions to the Prize Panel, a distinguished group consisting of environmentalists, scientists and industrialists. After two days of presentations and debates, the Panel will select the winner of the 2002 Prize. Each of the two runners up will receive $5,000.

Full details and further information on the Prize and how to enter are on the St Andrews Prize website: www.thestandrewsprize.com, or they can be obtained by contacting The St Andrews Prize Office, University of St Andrews, St Salvator’s College, St Andrews, Fife KY16 9AL, Scotland, Tel 01334 462161, Fax: 01334 462590, email [email protected]


Issued by Beattie Media On behalf of the University of St Andrews Contact Gayle Cook on 01382 562881, mobile 07900 050103, or email gayle.cook@beattie- dundee.co.uk


The 2001 St Andrews Prize was awarded last month (May) to Kenyan George Odera Outa, of the University of Nairobi for his project to save Lake Victoria. His aim to save the lake and its people from environmental hazards using popular community theatre techniques, was deemed to fit the prize criteria of practicality, good science, economic reality and political acceptability.

The joint winners of the 2000 Prize were two Palestinian academics, Prof Hikmat Hilal and Dr Amer El-Hamouz of the An-Najah National University at Nablus on the West Bank. Responding to the theme, ‘making waste work’, they submitted a proposal to turn the waste from olive oil production – a significant problem in Palestine and other Mediterranean areas – into valuable by-products by means of economic and environmentally sensitive processes.


The panel of Trustees with overall responsibility for policy as well as the selection process comprises:

Sir Crispin Tickell (Chairman), former Convener of the British Government’s Panel on Sustainable Development.

Dr Alun Anderson, Editor-in-Chief and Publishing Director of The New Scientist.

James Currie, Director-General of the Environment Directorate at the European Commission.

Archie W. Dunham, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Conoco Inc.

Dr David Fisk, Chief Scientist at the UK Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.

Professor Susan Greenfield, Director of the Royal Institution of Great Britain.

Keith Henry, Group Executive Vice President and Chief Executive of Kvaerner Engineering and Construction plc.

Dr Colin Hicks, Director-General of the British National Space Centre.

Professor Brian Hoskins, Professor of Meteorology at the University of Reading.

The Rt.Hon. Lord Jenkin of Roding, Chairman of the Foundation for Science and Technology.

Professor Sir John Krebs, Chairman of the Food Standards Agency.

Dr Brian Lang, Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of St Andrews.

Julia Marton-Lefevre, Executive Director of Leadership for Environment and Development International.

Sara Parkin, Director of Forum for the Future.

Richard Sandbrook, Senior Adviser to the International Institute for Environment and Development (representing HRH The Prince of Wales).

Dr George Watkins, Chairman and Managing Director of Conoco (UK) Limited.




Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story