Teaching Excellence Awards 2017

Wednesday 19 April 2017


Staff at the University of St Andrews who have made significant contributions to teaching have been recognised at the Teaching Excellence Awards 2017.

In two separate awards – University Teaching Awards nominated by Heads of Schools, and Students’ Association Teaching Awards nominated by students – outstanding teachers were acknowledged for their dedication in supporting students through their studies.

St Andrews is The Times and Sunday Times University Guide 2017 UK University of the Year for Teaching Quality.

The winners of the University awards, who are peer-nominated and peer-judged by academics, were:

•           Professor Will Cresswell (School of Biology)

•           Dr Clare Gill (School of English)

•           Dr Elise Hugueny-Leger (School of Modern Languages)

•           Dr David Evans (School of Modern Languages)

•           Dr Elodie Laugt (School of Modern Languages)

•           Odile Rimber (School of Modern Languages)

•           Dr Antje Kohnle (School of Physics and Astronomy)

The awards were presented by Principal and Vice-Chancellor Professor Sally Mapstone.

Vice-Principal (Proctor), Professor Lorna Milne, said: “It’s an immense pleasure every year to recognise excellent contributions to teaching at St Andrews by honouring some of our most committed and brilliant people in an event that is held jointly by the University and the Students’ Association. Nominees and winners came from Schools and Units right across the university, and included several students who have made an outstanding contribution to learning and teaching.

“Our ethos of community, and our collective commitment to high standards in everything we do, are worth celebrating in themselves. As UK University of the Year for Teaching Quality, we can safely say that everyone in the university takes responsibility for the outstanding education we offer, but I’m especially delighted for this year’s winners and offer them my warmest congratulations.”

Meanwhile students presented awards to individuals who have helped shape their learning:

•           Innovative Teaching – Sandra Romenska

•           Excellent Module (Science/Medicine) – Maggie Ellis

•           Excellent Module (Arts/Divinity) – Kristen Harkness

•           Commitment by a Support Staff Member – Cat Wilson

•           Academic Mentorship – Rona Ramsey

•           Postgraduate Student who Tutors – Lawrence Taylor

•           Dissertation/Project Supervisor – John Hudson

•           Outstanding Teacher – Sharon Leahy

Students’ Association’s Director of Representation, Jack Carr, said: “Every staff member nominated in this process has inspired the students whom they have encountered this year. They epitomise everything which we value and appreciate about the University of St Andrews. Our students recognise and encourage excellence while our staff members seek to continually improve the learning experience. We are delighted to commend the winners today and thank them for their continued dedication to their students.”

The Proctor’s Award, given to a student who has made a particular contribution to enhancing learning and teaching, went to Ruaraidh MacIver for his work as School President in the School of Classics.

Photo caption: Teaching Excellence Award winners with Principal Professor Sally Mapstone.

Issued by the University of St Andrews Communications Office, contactable on 01334 467310/2530 or [email protected].

Category Awards

Related topics

Share this story